IONL Awards Program

Awards Program

The IONL Awards Program recognizes outstanding nurse leaders for their contributions to the nursing community.

Awards & Criteria

Community Effort Award
For this award, the individual should demonstrate effort and service by impacting their facility, community, or nursing profession whether it is through involvement in organizations (such as IONL) or through a project/innovative idea that has created or continues to have a lasting impact on the nursing world. 

Emerging Leader Award
For this award, the individual should be new to the leadership experience, and has taken it upon themselves to embrace their time as a new leader. The individual should be seeking new opportunities to help improve their skills, and is continuously working to better themselves.

Most Valuable Member Award
For this award, the individual should be recognized for something they have done that has positively impacted the nursing world. For this award, please describe an example (or examples) of how this person makes an impact, and what makes them a valuable member of IONL.

Mentorship Award
For this award, the individual is seen as someone who champions a positive culture, builds trust and inspires others to always do their absolute best through the practices of advising, coaching, and communication and is willing to provide feedback to allow others to perform at their best. 

New award for 2018:

Influential Leader Award
For this award, the individual should be an accomplished leader who inspires positive change and/or embodies the mission and values of IONL. Nominators must provide an example (or examples) of how this leader uniquely affects those around them, creatively solves problems, overcomes challenges, or is otherwise a role model of leadership.

Past Award Winners


Yolanda Coleman, PhD, MS, RN, MT (ASCP), NEA-B
Nicole Wynn, MSN, RN-BC
Melinda Earle, RN, DNP, NEA-BC, FACHE
Janet Davis, NEA-BC
Airica Steed, EdD, MBA, RN, FACHE, CSSMBB

Read more about 2018's winners


Raphael Parayo
Jennifer Grenier
Julie Lopez 
Sharon Rangel 

Read more about 2017's winners

Illinois Organization of Nurse Leaders
225 W. Wacker Dr., Suite 650 | Chicago, IL 60606 | Ph: 312.265.3927

Legal and Privacy